My Top Priority With You:

To Make Your Life Easier

How Theft Charges Can Come Back to Haunt You

Theft Charges in Texas

Under Texas Penal Code 31.03, if “a person commits an offense of theft if he unlawfully appropriates property with the intent to deprive the owner of property”. This essentially means that if you take property of another without the owner’s consent and you do so with the intent to deprive the owner of that property, then you have committed a theft under Texas law.

However, theft charges in Texas vary on a scale depending the value of the property that was taken. Below are the different punishment ranges for theft crimes in Texas:

  • Class C Misdemeanor Theft

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was less than $100

    • Punishment for a Class C is a fine of not more than $500 and does not include any jail time whatsoever

  • Class B Misdemeanor Theft

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $100, but less than $750; OR

    • The property stolen is a driver's license, commercial driver's license, or personal identification certificate issued by the State of Texas or any other state state

    • Punishment for a Class B is a fine of not more than $2,000 and maximum time of 180 days in the county jail

  • Class A Misdemeanor Theft

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $750, but less than $2,500

    • Punishment for a Class A is a fine of not more than $4,000 and maximum time of 365 days in the county jail

  • State Jail Felony

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $2,500, but less than $30,000

    • Punishment for a State Jail Felony is a fine of not more than $10,000 and term of confinement ranging from six (6) months up to two (2) years in a state jail facility

  • 3rd Degree Felony

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $30,000, but less than $150,000

    • Punishment for a 3rd Degree Felony is a fine of not more than $10,000 and term of confinement ranging from two (2) years up to ten (10) years in the Texas Department of Corrections

  • 2nd Degree Felony

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $150,000, but less than $300,000

    • Punishment for a 2nd Degree Felony is a fine of not more than $10,000 and term of confinement ranging from two (2) years up to twenty (20) years in the Texas Department of Corrections

  • 1st Degree Felony

    • A person commits an offense if the value of the property stolen was more than $300,000

    • Punishment for a 1st Degree Felony is a fine of not more than $10,000 and term of confinement ranging from five (5) years up to ninety-nine (99) years in the Texas Department of Corrections


What makes theft charges in Texas so serious is that prior convictions can have serious future consequences. For example, someone who has one prior theft conviction at any level, who then at a later time commits another theft offense that involves property that is valued at less than $100 will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor instead of what is normally a Class C misdemeanor offense. Additionally, if someone has been convicted of two or more theft charges at any level, and then commits another theft offense involving property that is valued at less than $2,500, then that person will be charged with a State Jail Felony instead of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. This is why it is important that if you or someone you know has been charged with any kind of theft charge, to contact an attorney to help ensure that it does not have serious consequences in the future. Please call our office today at 214-306-9696 to speak with an attorney to help you prevent a theft case from going on your criminal record!

*Note that nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For legal advice on any specific case you should contact an attorney directly.