Due to COVID-19 our firm is equipped so we can work virtually as necessary. Contact us over the phone or online 24/7. Click here for more info.
Posted on Jun. 4 2020.
If you are arrested for a DWI in Texas, typically that also means that your driver’s license will also be suspended. This is because under Texas law, there are administrative consequences regarding your driver’s license that are separate from the criminal charges.
Posted on May. 14 2020.
The primary and most important different between probation and deferred adjudication is that probation is a final conviction. Unlike probation, deferred adjudication is not a conviction.
Posted on May. 11 2020.
Under Section 411.0731 of the Texas Government Code, you may qualify to have a DWI conviction nondisclosed and sealed from public record. This means that if you meet the qualifications, then you may be able to conceal a DWI conviction from future employers when job searching or from apartment complexes when searching for a place to rent.
Posted on Apr. 20 2020.
Under Texas Penal Code 31.03, if “a person commits an offense of theft if he unlawfully appropriates property with the intent to deprive the owner of property”. This essentially means that if you take property of another without the owner’s consent and you do so with the intent to deprive the owner of that property, then you have committed a theft under Texas law.
Posted on Apr. 15 2020.
On September 1, 2019, a new law relating to first time DWI offenses was officially put into action in Texas. Under the new law, someone charged with a DWI could qualifiy for deferred adjudication. This means that there is an additional way that you could prevent a criminal conviction on a DWI charge.
Posted on Apr. 10 2020.
Texas laws surrounding the crime commonly known as prostitution is considered a Class B misdemeanor when it is your first charge. With Class B misdemeanors you can face up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to two thousand dollars. You can be charged with prostitution in many situations. Both the alleged buyer and seller can be charged with the crime. There are police agencies in Dallas, Plano, McKinney, Fort Worth, Arlington, Denton and many other cities throughout north Texas that conduct undercover prostitution stings. They will range from online ads which result to a direct text or chat conversation to more traditional sting operations that use officers on the streets purporting to be prostitutes.
Posted on Apr. 7 2020.
No one likes getting traffic tickets. They’re expensive, annoying, and inconvenient. But what most people don’t realize is that when you get a traffic ticket, you are actually being charged with a Class C misdemeanor under Texas law and you can be fined up to $500 (that’s not including court costs). So when you get a traffic ticket, you are actually being charged with a criminal offense in the State of Texas and it's not something that should be ignored.
Posted on Apr. 1 2020.
Anytime you interact with a police officer or are stopped by a police officer, it is important to understand your rights. Most people don't understand their rights and they don't know the proper way to act, which can often times lead them to getting into more trouble. Here are 5 tips for interacting with a police officer.
Posted on Mar. 27 2020.
If you or someone you know has been arrested, it can be a scary and confusing situation. The legal system is anything but simple and can often be overwhelming if you have never experienced it before. That is why walk our clients through every step of the way to make sure they fully understand what is happening throughout their case. Here is the basic process for how a criminal case proceeds from the date of arrest all the way through a potential trial.
Posted on Mar. 24 2020.
The first step in any personal injury case is establishing liability. In Phase 1, we review police reports, assess property damage, and get record statements from you and witnesses (if applicable) about what happened on the day of the incident.